Welcome to the Trust the Force blog


Hi there!  I hope that my blog will be interesting, pithy, and worth a look.  I will comment on films, restaurants, movies, show you pictures from my new DSLR, rant about politics, and try to provoke comments.

Let us start with a question.  Where do you stand on molecular gastronomy?  I have some thoughts on the subject.  Is the drive to a multi-course one or two bites per course meal driven by profits or culinary “push the envelope?”  No, I haven’t been to Alinea yet, so I can’t comment on Grant Achatz’s cooking, but I can comment on Graham Eliot.  Last year we went (my wife, my son, and I) and had a 10 course degustation at $125.00 each (all have to order the same or the timing of presentation is off).  The overall quality of the meal was excellent, but if I went again, I would order appetizer and entree from the other side of the menu, and would be happier.  Even though the quality of the ingredients were quite excellent, if you divide the cost per pound by the number of grams in each bite provided on the plate, there must be a large profit potential even figuring the artistry of the presentation.  Besides, some of the courses were much less memorable than others.  Foam might be chic, but it is too ephemeral.  With a multi-course degustation, you have no input into what you eat, and are at the chef’s discretion.  Now, sometimes that can be good, and sometimes (like the last time we ate at Charlie Trotter’s) it can be BAD!

So, should I spend $190.00 per person at Alinea?  I think I still might have to try it.

About trustforce

A well trained amateur chef, I cook and enjoy many different cuisines. I can enjoy a great Chicago style hot dog or an Italian beef sandwich, or have equal pleasure from haut cuisine. The fun is getting it right, whether I make it or someone makes it for me. The big problem that I have with eating out is that I know too much about restaurants and I find it hard to ignore or forgive sloppy technique or bad ingredients. I pull no punches in my restaurant reviews! All my recipe postings are extensively tested by me unless I state otherwise (I will sometimes post a recipe that sounds like it should be good before I actually make it myself) and when I am not the originator they are correctly attributed to the source author, even if I have modified the recipe. Untested recipes that have been posted are revised once they have been made and evaluated in an effort to keep old posts accurate and current.
This entry was posted in food/restaurants/recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Welcome to the Trust the Force blog

  1. David R says:

    You wanna take me to Alinea, Dad? I’ll happily assent.

  2. trustforce says:

    One exception to an antipathy to a multi-course meal is Arun’s. First of all, there is more than 2 bites to each course, and the whole meal was a wonderful experience. Second, the cost of the 12 course dinner at Arun’s was $85.00, with an optional addition of a $50.00 charge for 5 wine parings. Considering the excellence of the meal and the lovely Thai art on the walls, you get value for your money in a unique culinary experience unlike any other establishment. If there is a course that you particularly liked, you can even get a second helping at no extra charge. The big difference is that there is no smoke and mirrors here, just artful presentation of high end cuisine, no foams or other gimmicks.

Leave a Reply

