Review: Jerry’s Restaurant


Jerry’s Restaurant

505 Chestnut St.

Winnetka, IL 60093 847-441-0134

Corner Cooks, founded in 1999, is a place to go to have fun and learn to cook without the prep work, and then have what you prepared served to you.  Jerry’s Restaurant at Corner Cooks, opened in 2008, is a traditional sit down restaurant with a seasonal menu and excellent service, and using the same staff to provide upscale dining.  After entering the restaurant, the first room is a combination of dining room and bar.  Through a short hallway, is an area of dining tables and open kitchen, with a third and smaller dining room up a short flight of stairs.  The tables are dark wood, and the chairs are comfortable.

We went last night with L*** and R***, and had an excellent meal.  J*** had a shaved fennel, mushroom, and arugula salad that was good (which needed a better dressing to punch it up), as J’s salad was not as good as L***’s roasted beet, walnut and parmesan reggiano with balsamic vinaigrette salad.  R*** had the “Howard’s” house salad, which was a nice but uninspired effort.  I had the appetizer special, 3 crispy shrimp cakes served with a Thai inspired peanut sauced noodles, well conceived and executed.

For entrées, L*** had the salmon pan roasted in a Dijon panko crust with an excellent sweet potato carrot soufflé, perfectly cooked, and very fresh.  R*** had sea scallops , the scallops cooked in olive oil to the correct degree, and then plated on a bed of bacon parmesan risotto.  J*** had the Chilean sea bass, served on a broth of sweet chili and ginger fried rice.  I had the skirt steak, marinated in a Korean green scallion sauce, and I asked and received a substitution of bacon sautéed Brussels sprouts instead of the wasabi mashed potatoes.  The steak was tender, the degree of medium rare I requested, and very tasty.  My only caveat was the Brussels sprouts were too raw, and needed more time to soften and soak up any flavor from the bacon bits.  Brussels sprouts are having a vogue at the moment, and since I like the vegetable, I am delighted.  Pan roasted, or sautéed with olive oil, or served with pine nuts—love it.  Raw, no thank you.  Quick tip—cut in half lengthwise, tossed in olive oil, roasted in a 400 ° F oven for 10 to 15 minutes, salt and pepper—delicious.

Anyway, I digress.

The portions are quite adequate, so when it came time for dessert, we decided one dessert shared among the four of us would be sufficient.  We had the Popcorn Dulce de Leche Sundae, a confection of peanut brittle, a drizzle of hot fudge sauce over ice cream and some popcorn.  This was just enough for each of us to have a sweet tooth fulfillment without being stuffed.

I think that Jerry’s offered excellent dining.  The pricing is on the high side, but you definitely get value for your money, and you will not be disappointed.

About trustforce

A well trained amateur chef, I cook and enjoy many different cuisines. I can enjoy a great Chicago style hot dog or an Italian beef sandwich, or have equal pleasure from haut cuisine. The fun is getting it right, whether I make it or someone makes it for me. The big problem that I have with eating out is that I know too much about restaurants and I find it hard to ignore or forgive sloppy technique or bad ingredients. I pull no punches in my restaurant reviews! All my recipe postings are extensively tested by me unless I state otherwise (I will sometimes post a recipe that sounds like it should be good before I actually make it myself) and when I am not the originator they are correctly attributed to the source author, even if I have modified the recipe. Untested recipes that have been posted are revised once they have been made and evaluated in an effort to keep old posts accurate and current.
This entry was posted in Restaurant review, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

