Egg Me On–Make Great Egg Foo Yung


 

I really enjoy Egg Foo Yung (or Young).  Literally meaning “Hibiscus egg,” this omelette is found in  Chinese, Indonesian, Japanese, British and Chinese-American cuisine. However, in the States, most of the time, it is poorly made, and served with a gloopy brown sauce that tastes of uncooked cornstarch.  You can do better at home, it is not hard.

The protein in Egg Foo Yung is up to you.  It can be pork, (bbq or otherwise), chicken, beef, or shrimp.  Since the cooking of the Egg Foo Yung patty will be insufficient to cook the protein, it must be pre-cooked first.  Here is a recipe for my favorite, Shrimp Egg Foo Yung:

Shrimp Egg Foo Yung

Recipe Type:  Chinese, Main Dish

1/2 pound Bean sprouts

1/4 cup Onion, thinly sliced

3 Celery Stalks, finely sliced

3 Scallions, finely sliced

Marinade

2 teaspoons cornstarch

1 tablespoon finely minced ginger

1/2 teaspoon Paprika

2 teaspoon dry Sherry

Protein

1/2 pound shrimp, peeled, deveined (and, depending on the size of the shrimp, cut in bit size pieces)

6 large eggs, beaten

Peanut oil for stir frying

Egg Foo Yung Sauce

3/4 cup chicken stock or broth

1 tablespoon soy sauce

Salt and pepper to taste

Options for thickening:

Cornstarch slurry (2 tbs dissolved in water)

Roux consisting of equal amounts of flour and butter (3 tbs each)

Directions:

Combine cornstarch, ginger, paprika and sherry.  Add the shrimp to the marinade and combine to coat completely.  Heat wok and add 1 tbs peanut oil.  Saute the onions for 1 minute, then add the celery and bean sprouts.  Remove the vegetables to a bowl, add 1 tbs of oil to the wok and stir fry the shrimp until they are pink.  Add to the vegetable mixture in a bowl, and mix in the beaten eggs.  Add green onions.

Place 2 to 3 tbs of peanut oil in the wok, and heat to smoking point.  Add one ladle of the egg mixture (about 6 ounces) to the hot oil.  With the paddle, toss hot oil on the top surface of the patty to help set the top surface, and after 1 minute, use the paddle to flip the patty over.  Cook for 1 minute to get overall golden brown surfaces.  Place on a warm plate, and cook remaining patties.

To make the sauce, combine the thickening agent (I prefer the roux) to boiling chicken stock and whisk to combine and thicken.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.

Serve over boiled rice, and garnish with chopped cilantro.

About trustforce

A well trained amateur chef, I cook and enjoy many different cuisines. I can enjoy a great Chicago style hot dog or an Italian beef sandwich, or have equal pleasure from haut cuisine. The fun is getting it right, whether I make it or someone makes it for me. The big problem that I have with eating out is that I know too much about restaurants and I find it hard to ignore or forgive sloppy technique or bad ingredients. I pull no punches in my restaurant reviews! All my recipe postings are extensively tested by me unless I state otherwise (I will sometimes post a recipe that sounds like it should be good before I actually make it myself) and when I am not the originator they are correctly attributed to the source author, even if I have modified the recipe. Untested recipes that have been posted are revised once they have been made and evaluated in an effort to keep old posts accurate and current.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Recipe. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

