A Delicious Fall Dessert–Dutch Apple Pie Bars


This is not the first time I’ve posted a recipe for apple pie bars.  Back in September 2013, I posted a recipe that I modified from Michelle Norris’ Browneyedbaker.com post (that had been published first by America’s Test Kitchen):  https://trustforce.wordpress.com/2013/09/03/the-summer-baking-spree/

This recipe is good (I made it better by not using crushed up animal cracker cookies for the crust).  I’ve also made a recipe adapted from Los Angeles’s Big Sugar Bakeshop that was printed in Food & Wine and posted on the web:  http://www.foodandwine.com/recipes/apple-pie-bars

I don’t completely love the topping on the F&W bars, so I kept looking and found a posting on Genius Kitchen that adapted a recipe from the King Arthur Flour Cookie Companion Cookbook.  This one works well, and it doesn’t use a whole pound of butter–the main reason that I am not advocating the Barefoot Contessa recipe of Ina Garten’s that has a dense shortbread type base:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/apple-pie-bars-3769825

The post is from Genius Kitchen:  http://www.geniuskitchen.com/recipe/dutch-apple-pie-bars-264962

Dutch Apple Pie Bars

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 425°; lightly grease a 13×9 inch pan.
  2. Crust: in a mixing bowl, whisk together the flour and salt; using a pastry blender, cut in the butter.
  3. Drizzle the beaten egg over the mixture; toss lightly to combine.
  4. Add the ice water 1 tablespoons at a time, stirring gently until the dough starts to clump together; grab a fistful; if it sticks together easily, you have added enough water.
  5. Roll the dough into a generous rectangle to fit your pan.
  6. Place the dough in the pan; prick it all over with a fork; bake it for 10-12 minutes, until it is set and barely starting to harden.
  7. Filling: in a bowl, whisk the flour, sugar, spices, and salt together; add in the apples, tossing to coat.
  8. Stir in the vanilla, then the cream; spread the filling over the crust.
  9. Topping: in a mixing bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, salt, and cinnamon.
  10. In another bowl, combine the melted butter and extracts; pout over the flour mixture.
  11. Stir until the butter is absorbed and the mixture forms fairly even crumbs; sprinkle over the filling.
  12. Bake for 15 minutes; decrease temperature to 350°; bake for 30-35 minutes, or until the topping is brown and the filling is bubbly.
  13. Remove from oven and cool on a rack; let them cool to lukewarm before cutting.

These bars are best served lukewarm, but can be served from the refrigerator as well.  I did not need to modify the recipe, but if you don’t have almond extract, you can ignore it and just use a fraction more vanilla extract.   Enjoy!

About trustforce

A well trained amateur chef, I cook and enjoy many different cuisines. I can enjoy a great Chicago style hot dog or an Italian beef sandwich, or have equal pleasure from haut cuisine. The fun is getting it right, whether I make it or someone makes it for me. The big problem that I have with eating out is that I know too much about restaurants and I find it hard to ignore or forgive sloppy technique or bad ingredients. I pull no punches in my restaurant reviews! All my recipe postings are extensively tested by me unless I state otherwise (I will sometimes post a recipe that sounds like it should be good before I actually make it myself) and when I am not the originator they are correctly attributed to the source author, even if I have modified the recipe. Untested recipes that have been posted are revised once they have been made and evaluated in an effort to keep old posts accurate and current.
This entry was posted in Cooking, food/restaurants/recipes, Recipe and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

